The JHM Awards

Every year, The John H. McDonald Awards for Excellence in Student Journalism — better known as the Johnnies or the JHMs — are presented as a part of NASH. These prestigious awards recognize the very best in student journalism across the country.

Winners will be announced at the virtual JHM Gala taking place at the NASH84 conference on February 27, 2022.

Please direct any inquiries to

Here are the categories to submit to and their descriptions:


Arts & Culture Writing Award

Humour Award

Diversity Reporting Award

Feature Writing Award

Under 75,000
Over 75,000

Investigative Reporting Award

Under 75,000
Over 75,000

The CWA Award for Labour Reporting

News Reporting Award

Op-Ed Award

Sports Reporting Award

Indigenous Reporting Award


Data Journalism Award

Climate Reporting Award

Science Reporting Award

Public Health Reporting Award


Cover/Layout of the Year (paper award)

Graphic/Illustration of the Year

Photo of the Year

Best Online Media

Prize for Digital Storytelling

Over 75,000


Student Journalist of the Year

  • Kate Korte, The Martlet
  • Hope Mahood, Western Gazette
  • Nick Taylor, Arthur Newspaper

Student Photojournalist of the Year

  • Isabella Falsetti, The Ubyssey
  • Catherine Reynolds, The Concordian
  • Spencer Colby, The Charlatan

Student Publication of the Year

This award, voted on by CUP’s membership (digitally) during the NASH conference, is designed to help foster solidarity among the student media landscape and to recognize any outstanding accomplishments, progress and community service that a student publication has brought to their community at large over the past year.