The JHM Awards

Credit: Diego Lozano

Every year, The John H. McDonald Awards for Excellence in Student Journalism — better known as the Johnnies or the JHMs — are presented as a part of NASH. These prestigious awards recognize the very best in student journalism across the country.

2023 Winners 


Arts & Culture Writing Award

Jasmine Cadeliña Manango, To all the stories I haven’t told yet: Finding my voice as a Filipina scholar, The Ubyssey

Humour Award

Tova Gaster, The Dingbat: Buchanan B can’t fool me – that’s a pole, not a French tutor, The Ubyssey

2SLGBTQIA+ Reporting Award

Anne Fu, Exploring the gender-affirming healthcare system in Kingston, The Queen’s Journal

Disability Reporting Award

Charlotte Alden, BC’s autism assessment process is slow and expensive. For students seeking accommodations, that’s a problem, The Ubyssey

Racialized Reporting Award

Edward Djan, At what cost: How scholarship applications re-traumatize BIPOC students, The Eyeopener

Feature Writing Award (Under $75k)

Carter Sawatzky, Was It Something I Said? How One Of TWU’s Most Decorated Deans Went From Star To Sunset, Mars’ Hill Newspaper

Feature Writing Award (Over $75k)

Carter Dungate, Student defenders of Fairy Creek, The Ubyssey

Investigative Reporting Award (Under $75k)

Hannah Rudderham, Jessica Saulnier, Giuliana Grillo de Lambarri, Hana Delaney; Graduating STU students speak out about inability to vote for valedictorian, by-election scheduled, The Aquinian

Investigative Reporting Award (Over $75k)

Leo Larman Brown, Samuel Massey; Over 15 million dollars from McGill Investment Pool tied up in Uyghur genocide, The McGill Tribune 

Nathan Bawaan, Over $19 million of UBC’s endowment invested in companies tied to Uyghur genocide, The Ubyssey

The CWA Award for Labour Reporting

Sara Eldabaa, Sex workers: Neglected victims of the pandemic, The Link

News Reporting Award

Olivia Integlia, Concordia renews contract with notorious prison food provider, The Link

Op-Ed Award

Matthew Konhauser, Dingy arts environment reflects the attitudes of the university, The Gateway

Sports Reporting Award

Ryan Goodison, The story behind Western football’s 2-headed monster, The Western Gazette

Indigenous Reporting Award (Print)

Giuliana Grillo de Lambarri, ‘Leave the fucking salmon alone:’ ASF accused of poisoning Miramichi Lake, The Aquinian

Data Journalism Award

Sonia Persaud, Using data to plan your trip to the Rec Centre, The Western Gazette

Climate Reporting Award

Anne Fu, The relationship between climate change & human health, The Queen’s Journal

Science Reporting Award

Wafa El-Rayes, “The future is fungi”: The power of citizen science to advance fungal conservation, The Charlatan

Public Health Reporting Award

Isaac Phan Nay, Period product dispensers installed in Residence Commons washrooms, The Charlatan


Cover/Layout of the Year

Jinny Moon, Recovery, The McGill Tribune

Graphic/Illustration of the Year

Talia Rouck, Women’s equality in the medical field, Capilano Courier

Photo of the Year

Sophie Bouquillon, Young woman handcuffed on Homecoming, The Western Gazette

Indigenous Reporting Award (Multimedia)

Lauren Bingham, In Photos: Indigenous activist leads anti-colonial march to rename Sir John A. Macdonald Parkway, The Charlatan

Prize for Digital Storytelling

Diana Hong, Nathan Bawaan, Marieta-rita Ose Osezua, Alex Fuster; UBC students take part in Sprouts-organized walkout, The Ubyssey

Best Online Media

The Silhouette —


Student Journalist of the Year

Charlotte Alden, The Ubyssey

Student Photojournalist of the Year

Isabella Falsetti, The Ubyssey